Podrophenia - Easter Special

April 14, 2017

Mondo and Piley present a selection-box od sweet themed tunes. Special guest Leo C played some of his new songs live. The songs played were:


She Got Me When She Got Her Dress On - Masters Of Reality
Don't Look At Me (I Dont't Like It) - Lovely Eggs
Scare Me Sweetly - DC Camplight

Leo C -live in the studio
Forget You (radio edit)

Sweet Young Thing - Chocolate Watchband
Starman - Milky Edwards

Leo C - live in the studio
Express You Anytime
The Waiting
Is That You?
Good Night Irene (duet with Rachel Clemenson)

Roll Away The Stone - Mott The Hoople
Heaven's In The Back Seat Of My Cadillac - Hot Chocolate
Windows - Invaders
Getting Closer - Wings

Revamp Town - Treatment
Easter Theatre - XTC
Nothing Lasts For Ever - Echo & The Bunnymen
Sugar Sugar - Tom Jones
I Am The Resurrection - The Stone Roses

Library of Aethers- 06/04/2017

April 6, 2017

Alex Milne from Southend YMCA guests with Romi Neale to talk about the SYMCA single and his new album Change with composer Josh Winiberg and the Bergersen Quartet.

Anne Briggs- Blackwater Side.
Diamond Family Archive- Blackwater Side.
Roshi, Feat. Pars Radio - Dohktar e Boyerahmadi
Ellen Mary McGee - You Never Wanted Me
Shirley Collins- The Split Ash Tree
Jo Lepine- The Selkie O'Sule Skerry

Romi Neale- Alone

Ry Cooder- Going to Brownsville
The Furrow Collective- Dear Companion
Bob Dylan- Girl from the North Country
Alex Rex- The Screaming Cathedral
Cunning Folk- The Old Straight Track
Mississippi John Hurt- Oh Mary don't you weep

Josh Winiberg feat. Alex Milne and The Bergersen Quartet- Amor Fati

Estuary Song Writing Project- Tilbury Jack
Smog- The Morning Paper
The Incredible String Band- The Tree
Mergen Mongush- Sigit 'Alash'
Anatolii Kuular- Sigit with Alil
Gillian Welch- Barroom Girls

Josh Winiberg feat. Alex Milne -Remember

Warren Caplinger's Cumberland Mountain Entertainers- Saro
Bonnie Billy Bitchin Bajas- Pretty Saro

Podrophenia - March Madness

March 16, 2017

Piley and Mondo play nutty covers, eccentric instrumentals and odd album tracks. They were joined by Grant Philpott for his mentalist mash-ups and insider TV chat. The playlist was:

Mae West - Great Balls Of Fire (Piley)
The New Cookbook - Smells Like Teen Spirit (Mondo)
Lil Lost Lou - He Put A Hook In Me (Piley)
Mystic Voyage - Roy Ayres/Pam Ayres mash up (Grant)
Petula Clark - I'm Not In Love (Mondo)
Jackie Lee - Rupert (Piley)
Smiths Mash Up Mix (Mark E Smith vs Jimmy Smith) (Grant)
Lisa Jardim - Energy In Northampton (Mondo)
War Of The Words mash up (Grant)
Hugo Strasser - Silver Machine (Mondo)
Charles Manson - Look at Your Game Girl (Piley)
Reginald Bosanquet - Dance With Me (Mondo)

Otherwires 29

February 13, 2017

James is manning the helm tonight owing to Nick being plague-ridden. Expect gems from Miles Davis, Space Commanders, Amon Tobin, Autechre as well as a selection of incredible music from the artists featured at Punkt Festival.

Gallops - Darkjewel
Space Commanders - Grandpa Shuffle
Miles Davis - Sanctuary
Sons of Kemet - In The Castle of My Skin
Three Trapped Tigers - Drebin
Supersilent - 4.3
Autechre - d-sho sub
Helge Lien Trio - Gamut
Triometrik - Berg
Triosk - Vostok
Humcrush feat. Ståle Størlokken - Dance!
Strobes - Kiksin
This Will Destroy You - Dustism
Bohren & Der Club of Gore - Bei Rosarotem Light
Jan Bang - Sinking Ship
Eric Honoré - Departed
Loscil - Fern and Robin
Nils Petter Molvaer - Little Indian
Squarepusher - Tommib Help Buss
Amon Tobin - Easy Muffin
Arve Henriksen - Opening Image


Otherwires 28

January 16, 2017

Otherwires gets back to it's roots tonight featuring some stellar jazz from the likes of Art Pepper, Simon Spillett and the Moses Boyd Exodus, as well as some electronic wanderings from Aris Kindt, Jaimeo Brown Transcendence and Jan Jalinek.


Album of the month comes from the always excelent Jeff Parker with his solo record Slight Freedom.


Brian Eno - Reflection
Simon Spillett - Shepherd's Serenade
Moses Boyd Exodus - Axis Blue
Andy Sheppard - They Weren't Perfect and Neither Am I
Jeff Parker - Slight Freedom (Album of the Month)
Lee Konitz - Cherokee
Evan Parker - Whitstable Solo 2
Jaimeo Brown Transcendence - Safflower
Maylight - Digits
Nubya Garcia - Buzztown Roll
Bill LeSage and The New Directions in Jazz Unit - Times Two and a Half
Bibio - St Thomas
John Coltrane - Lush Life
Jeff Parker - Mainz
Arve Henriksen - Magma Oscillator
Aris Kindt - Embers
Jan Jalinek - Moire
Art Pepper - The Trip


Junkshop Jukebox 6 December 2016

December 6, 2016

Join Paul Collier for the December edition of Junkshop Jukebox where he looks back at some of the great talents we lost in 2016 plus a few Christmas tunes thrown in for good measure. 


6060842 - The B 52's
Beechwood 45789 - The Marvelettes
6345789 - Wilson Pickett
Give Me Your Telephone Number - J.C Higginbotham and his Six Hicks

Everybody Knows - Leonard Cohen
First We Take Manhatten - REM
Dance Me To The End Of Love - Madeline Peyroux
Hey, That's No Way To Say Goodbye - Leonard Cohen

Last Night - The Mar-Keys
Judge Dread - Prince Buster
Your Mind Is On Vacation - Mose Allison
Ghost Rider - Suicide
Ain't You - Kleenex

Let Him Roll - Guy Clark
Rank Stranger - Stanley Brothers
Little B's Poem - Bobby Hutcherson
Sya - Issa Bagoyogo

Lucky Day - Tom Waits
Sea Shanty - The Pogues
Firewater - Alasdair Roberts
The Box Of Delights - Victor Hely-Hutchinson, Barry Rose/Pro Arte Orchestra

We Free Kings - Roland Kirk
Joy To The World - John Fahey
Gloria from Missa Puer Natus Est Nobis - Thomas Tallis, Tallis Phillips Scholars
Shepards Arise - Waterson-Carthy

England In Ribbons - Chris Wood

Podrophenia Movember with Nathan Abbott live

November 24, 2016

Celebrating the many moustaches of rock, pop and soul - with a live session from Nathan Abbott

Goldsoundz Radio 10-11-16

November 10, 2016

Harbour Bazaar with Steven Hastings : Mixing Pop & Politics plus The Clash SANDINISTA!

November 7, 2016
Harbour Bazaar waves it's flag high this month and ask you what the use is with our theme of Mixing Pop & Politics! Rather than embarrasment and usual excuses we will be choosing tracks that called for revolution, social change or simply demanded to make a differance! 

Classic Album choice is The Clash's triple SANDINISTA! from 1980 which shifted them from their origins into a punky meltdown of reggae funk rockabilly & dub.

Delighted that joining us in the studio will be music journalist & guitarist Julian Marszalek and after leaving his tea in the shed we have as 
well top man & Clash afficianado Justin Hayzelden 

Owen's links Nicaraguan Revolution, the Ford Cortina and The Clash in his Stats and Facts & Box'y sums up in a welcome return of the  Box Report!

Follow The Harbour Bazaar on Twitter @harbourbazaar1 and www.facebook.com/theharbourbazaar

Next Harbour Bazaar show 4/12/16

Finest Worksong - REM
Street Fighting Man - Rolling Stones
Masters Of War - Bob Dylan
Say It Loud I'm Black & I'm Proud - James Brown
The Revolution Will Not Be Televised - Gil Scott-Heron
Washington Bullets - The Clash
Upton Babies - Max Romeo
Ku Klux Klan - Steel Pulse
The Call Up - The Clash
Cold Morning Light - James Johnstone
Alphashit - Jim Jones & The Righteous Minds
Standing In The Way Of Control - The Gossip
Somebody Got Murdered - The Clash
One & Only - Marnie
Early Warning Of A Distant Memory - The November Five
War - Edwin Starr
Part Of The Union - Strawbs

Goldsoundz 13-10-2016

October 13, 2016